APW: DIY Interviews – Deanna Nowadnick

Name: Deanna Nowadnick

Email Address: info@fruitofmyspirit.com

What is your blog URL? http://fruitofmyspirit.com/blog/

What is your website URL? http://fruitofmyspirit.com/

What is the contact information you are willing to share?
Email: info@fruitofmyspirit.com
Twitter: @DeannaNowadnick
Facebook: facebook.com/FruitofMySpirit

Where and/or when were you born?
Tacoma, WA on August 6, 1954

What schools did you attend? 
What was your course of study?

I graduated Pacific Lutheran University in 1976 with a degree in Education. My major was English.

When and how did you discover you wanted to be a writer/author?
I didn’t plan to be a writer. Even though I majored in English in college, I never enjoyed writing assignments. I actually think it had more to do with being told what to write, rather than the writing itself.

‘Fruit of My Spirit’ is my first book. I really didn’t intend to write a book. I just wanted my sons, Kyle and Kevin, to know how I met their father, but one chapter became two chapters and then two chapter became three …  Finally I said to anyone who would listen, “I think I wrote a book!”

Before she died, my mom had asked me to write a book. At the time my boys were very small, and the notion of writing was unfathomable. I couldn’t get a grocery list put together!

Before my father died, he reminded me that mom had wanted me to write a book. At the time the boys were in college, and the notion of writing was unfathomable. Writers write books.

Last year I wrote a book. My boys were now adults and I’d run out of excuses. I was also at an age when I could pause and reflect.

Are you a published author? Yes

Please list your published material, with dates?
Fruit of My Spirit: Reframing Life in God’s Grace (2012)

If these materials are books, are they available, and from where?
Yes, the book is available on Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.

Please tell about your first publication – what was it, when, how you felt when it happened, etc.
Fruit of My Spirit is a memoir of short stories. What started as one story for my sons about how I met their father quickly became a much larger story about God’s love and faithfulness.

Please tell about the most memorable moment in your  career.
I have to admit that divine gratitude gave way to sheer joy and excitement when I held the first copy of my book. I carried it with me from room to room. I thumbed the pages. I learned that there is nothing as cathartic as sharing our experiences in writing. Words, sentences, and paragraphs give order and meaning to so many things that we throw into our mental box of memories.

Have you won any awards? If yes, which award(s) and when?
I am a debut author and no writing awards yet 🙂
While working as an office assistant for a financial adviser, I received our company’s national award for ‘Sales Assistant of the Year.’ After over 20 years in the field of personal finance, the award my peers bestowed on me was thrilling.

What genre do you most often write?
Spirituality, Inspirational

Who are the authors who most influenced your writing career?
I have many authors who inspire, encourage, and entertain me. Anne Lamontt gave me the courage to write and to keep writing. Jane Austen warms my heart. Beth Moore feeds my soul and nurtures my faith. Steig Larsson wow’s me.

And honorable mention has to go to Carolyn Keene who gave a young girl her first real love of reading. In fourth grade I really just wanted to grow up and be Nancy Drew.

Have you mentored an aspiring writer?  Would you mentor, if the opportunity arose?
I would gladly mentor

What would you tell an aspiring writer who asks you for assistance?
I think of Anne Lamott’s book, Bird by Bird in which she tells of the encouragement given to her brother as a writing assignment loomed. Her father’s words were, “Bird by bird, buddy. Just take it bird by bird.” I’ve often heard people say, “I could never write a book.” Not long ago I would have replied the same. Fruit of My Spirit began as a single story. That story led to the next story. We all have stories to tell. Just take it story by story.

Please tell about your other community activities.
My “day job” is with ‘The Planner’s Edge,’ a financial advisory firm in Washington State. The boss and I have been together for 22 years. I have thoroughly enjoyed being part of his practice and working with his clients. And since I telecommute, I have even more time to write!

When not working or writing, I knit and play the violin.

What is the name of your current project?
Fruit of My Spirit: Reframing Life in God’s Grace

What is the expected release date?
Fruit of My Spirit,’ was released this past January (2012).  

What is the genre?
Spirituality, Inspirational

Is this work a stand-alone or part of a series?
Stand-alone

Do you have any project(s) planned for the future? Yes

Please provide some details of the project.
I’m working on Book 2 now. Signs in Life: Meeting God at the Corner of Grace and Mercy tells of those times when God has come alongside and guided, directed and turned me. The book is another collection of short stories, this time recounting when God has met me at life’s crossroads, when I’ve been “on point” with God, not because of anything I’ve done, but because a loving, gracious, merciful God has been there for me time after time, again and again.

What is the anticipated release date?
‘Signs in Life,’ is due out next year (2013).

We’d like to thank Deanna Nowadnick for her DIY Interview. You can do your own interview by just checking out the details in the left column of this blog.

Don’t miss the next ‘Janelle’s Time’ excerpt on Monday, May  14th when Richard and Janelle, out riding with Richard’s brother, Sinjin, encounter Nick, Lord Statler.  Nick reveals a bit too much. Could this become a life-and-death situation?

Happy Writing,

Julie

PS: Please take a few minutes to read the  Wedding Chapter – Final  from my soon-to-be-published adult historical romance (2012) ‘Janelle’s Time.’  You’ll meet Richard and Janelle Grayson, the newlyweds, AND, meet Duke Logan Conor (he crashes the wedding) from my upcoming book, ‘Logan’s Time.’

The TIME Series – by Dayna Leigh Cheser
Janelle’s Time – Release: 2012
Moria’s Time – WIP – NaNoWriMo Project, 2011 Winner
Adelle’s Time – Planned
Logan’s Time – WIP
Clarissa’s Time – Planned

Posted on May 10, 2012, in Adelle, Adelle's Time, Amazon, author, Barnes & Noble, Clarissa, Clarissa's Time, Dayna Leigh Cheser, DIY Interviews, Facebook Fan Page, Janelle, Janelle's Time, Logan, Logan's Time, Moria, Moria's Time, Richard, Spiritual / Inspiratinal, TIME Series, Wedding Chapter, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on APW: DIY Interviews – Deanna Nowadnick.

Comments are closed.

