APW: DIY Interview – Vitra Singh

Name: Vitra Singh

Email Address:
VitraSingh@gmail.com

What is your website/blog URL?
http://ladolcevitra.com/

What is the contact information you are willing to share?
Twitter: @VitraSin
Email: LaDolceVitra@gmail.com

Where and/or when were you born?
Trinidad in 1982

When and how did you discover you wanted to be a writer/author?
I have always had an interest in writing.  More than being creative and writing fiction, I’ve always found people to have fascinating true stories and life experiences, which are more interesting to me.  “Writing A Book” has been on my List of Things to Do, and I’m happy to have accomplished this goal on a topic that is personal to me, and I believe, relevant in these times.

Are you a published author? Yes

Please list your published material, with dates?
‘Living Life For Yourself, Not Your Job’ (April 17th, 2012)

If these materials are books, are they available, and from where?
This book is available in paperback and Kindle on Amazon: http://amzn.to/J60iil

Please tell about your first publication – what was it, when, how you felt when it happened, problems you may have had, etc.
I wrote ‘Living Life For Yourself, Not Your Job’ because it is a book I would read.  I’ve tried so many hobbies, internships, and jobs, but never had a feeling of truly doing something I loved. Of course, there were always elements of things I liked in earlier jobs: the people at this place, the environment at that place, etc. But I could never seem to find a happy meeting place for all these great elements.

At my last job, I disliked it so much that I weighed quitting for months. I didn’t know what I should do next so I thought maybe I could find another job  while working. Things got so bad after a while that I decided to just quit without having another job. I needed to figure out what I really want to do, and pursue that.

Once I handed in my notice–it felt GREAT!! BUT, I did think to myself, “Did I really just do that?  What am I going to do now?”

And that is where the idea for this book originated.  I thought there have to be  people out there who have dared to walk away from stability to pursue or discover their passion. And some of these people must consider themselves happy, successful, and more energized than ever before.

I decided to find these people, interview them about their past work experience, the catalyst for change, and how their lives are now much more fulfilled doing something they love.  Sure, they may not all be rolling in the dough, but every single one of them is happier making less than when they were making more.  They have a sense of internal satisfaction and self-accomplishment.

That is the basis for this book, and I can only hope when people read it they get some inspiration from it.

Please tell about the most memorable moment(s) in your career.
I am a first-time author.  During the four months it took me to write my non-fiction work, the most memorable experience was when I would question a source and my question caused them to stop and think.  Either they didn’t expect it, they thought their answer was going to be something else, or they’d never been asked the question before.  Hearing someone say “Wow, I’ve never been asked that question before” or “That is such a great question” really made me feel like I was doing the right thing in writing this book.

What advice would you give to all up-and-coming writers?
Once you have an idea for the book, do something towards it each day.  Whether that means talking to people, online research, offline research, or just making an outline or timeline.  Also, when it gets a little tedious or feels like a burden – keep in mind why you wanted to write it in the first place.

As I was writing my book, I kept an index card next to my bed that said:

“My goal is to inspire others.”

During hours of mundane work like transcribing interviews, I would look at the index card and remember what my end goal was.

Please tell about your other activities.
After I quit my job, I took up this project of writing the book full-time. In order to keep me sane, I also tried to cross off some other things from my To Do List: I finally took the LSATs, I signed up for jewelry making class, I’m taking ballroom dance lessons, and I’ve tried to travel at least once a month.

What is the genre? Self Help

Please provide details of your upcoming blog tour, book tour, and/or book-signing.
I am available for interviews, or if a bookstore would like to carry my book and have a signing, please get in touch with me.

Is this work a stand-alone or part of a series? Stand-alone.

Tell us a bit about the format of your book?
My book profiles 24 people.  It is broken up in themes about how their passion comes into play in their life.  For example, ‘Working A Passion While Working a 9-to-5.’  These people are not able to quit their jobs fully so have incorporated what they love to do on the side.

Or, ‘Reevaluating A Career Path After Life Got In The Way.’  Some of these folks were laid off, got sick, or had some other event in their life which stopped them in their tracks and gave them a sign that it was time to do what they loved.

Additionally, I thought it was be balanced to have some experts talk about the experience they have had in their careers, so I included 4 Break Times with interviews including an HR Director and Executive Coach.

What do you hope readers take away from this work?
I know first-hand what it is like to feel like you are in an abyss of unhappiness and confusion at work and unable to seem to find your way out.

So many people out there put up with a job and come home and complain about hating what they do.  But they never do anything about it.  They get depressed, it affects all other parts of their life, and the people around them probably get tired of hearing them complain.

My hope is that readers are able to relate to the people interviewed in my book. If they can recognize that whether people take a small action, or a drastic action – well, at least they are taking action for the better.  To remain complacent is also an action – it’s saying that they’re okay with the status quo.  We know this isn’t the case.

There is hope, and once people start making efforts
to make a change, awesome things can happen.

Thanks to Vitra for submitting her amazing interview.
You can do the same thing by checking out
DIY Interviews in the left column of this blog.

Happy Writing,

Julie

PS: Please take a few minutes to read the Wedding Chapter – Edit2 from my soon-to-be-published book (2012) ‘Janelle’s Time.’  You’ll meet Richard and Janelle Grayson, the newlyweds, AND, meet Duke Logan Conor (he crashes the wedding) from my upcoming book, ‘Logan’s Time.’

The TIME Series – by Dayna Leigh Cheser
Janelle’s Time – Release: 2012
Moria’s Time – WIP – NaNoWriMo Project, 2011 Winner
Adelle’s Time – Planned
Logan’s Time – WIP
Clarissa’s Time – Planned

Posted on April 26, 2012, in Adelle, Adelle's Time, Amazon, author, blog, book store, Clarissa, Clarissa's Time, Dayna Leigh Cheser, DIY Interviews, inspiring, interview, Janelle, Janelle's Time, Kindle, Logan, Logan's Time, Moria, Moria's Time, non-fiction, Richard, TIME Series, Wedding Chapter, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on APW: DIY Interview – Vitra Singh.

Comments are closed.

