APW: DIY Interview – Erik Swiger

Name: Erik Swiger

Email Address:
erikincheyenne@hotmail.com

What is your blog URL?
http://www.happycatbooks.blogspot.com

 What is your website URL?
https://www.happycatbooks.com

 What is the contact information you are willing to share?
Email: erikincheyenne@hotmail.com
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/orbeye11
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/ErikSwiger
Google+:  https://plus.google.com/104640207017509079680/posts

Where and/or when were you born?
I was born in Evart, Michigan on October 31.

What schools did you attend?  What was your course of study?
We moved around a lot when I was young, so I went to many schools.  I did not graduate, but I got a G.E.D. in 1992.

When and how did you discover you wanted to be a writer/author?
I’ve had health problems for years, which has given me a lot of time alone to think, and after years of this, I decided that writing was the most enjoyable thing I could do.

Are you a published author? Yes

Please list your published material, with dates?
In May of 2011, I published “5 Short Cat Tales.”

If these materials are books, are they still available, and from where?
You can purchase “5 Short Cat Tales” at Amazon.com for the Kindle, at Barnes and Noble.com for the Nook, and at https://www.happycatbooks.com as a PDF download.

Please tell about your first publication – what was it, when, how you felt when it happened, problems you may have had, etc.
My first publication was “5 Short Cat Tales.”  It’s a collection of short stories about living with my cats, two strays that don’t like each other.  I’ve tried to find ways to help them get along, with some success.

As I was writing these stories, two more stories were submitted to me, which I edited/co-wrote and added to my own.

The editing and re-writing was hard work, but enjoyable at the same time.

Please tell about the memorable moment(s) in your writing career.
The most memorable moment in my career was seeing my stories and cover art published as an e-book.  It was a feeling of accomplishment.

What problems have you encountered in your career and how did you deal with them?
I enjoy the process of writing and editing.  The biggest problem I’ve had is afterward, with publishing my work and getting it noticed by the public.

Who are the authors who most influenced your writing and career?
Number one on my list of influential authors is Isaac Asimov.  He made me understand ‘chemistry’ when no one else could.

I’ve read science and science-fiction all my life.  In recent years, I’ve moved into the metaphysical, mystical and spiritual categories.  In these areas, my favorite author is William Henry.

Who are the authors your read most often?
My most-read authors are Isaac Asimov, Arthur C. Clarke, Robert Heinlein, and William Henry.

What would you tell an aspiring writer who asks you for assistance?
Many people will try to talk you out of your career.  They may be well-intentioned, but misguided.  If your soul burns with a passion to write, do it.  Commit to it.  You WILL find success if you believe in yourself and stay with it, even when things seem bleak.

Please provide details of your upcoming blog tour, book tour, and/or book-signing.
I’m just beginning the process of guest-blogging.  I’ll be sure to let everyone know more about it as soon as I can!

Is this work a stand-alone or part of a series? Stand-alone

Do you have any project(s) planned for the future? Yes

Please provide some details of the project(s).
I have ideas for books and/or screenplays, but I haven’t had time to pursue them.

I love the science-fiction genre, and one idea is for a different incarnation of the Star Trek franchise.  It’s about the Red Shirts from the original series, who are always used as cannon-fodder.  I want to flesh-out their short lives, and then follow them into the afterlife when they get killed.  It’s a metaphysical twist on the classic science-fiction genre.

What is the anticipated release date?
So far, it’s only in my head.

Are you involved in publishing in any other capacity?
Editor, Publicist

• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •

I’d like to thank Erik for participating in the DIY Interviews program.  See the details in the left column on how YOU can do your own interview, too.  I’ll post all the interviews here, and then post them on the DIY Interviews Archive page with a Shortlink for your promotional needs.

Happy Writing!

Julie

PS: Please take a few minutes to read the updated, revised and edited Wedding Chapter Rev. from my soon-to-be-published book (2012) ‘Janelle’s Time.’ You’ll meet Richard and Janelle Grayson, the newlyweds, AND, meet Duke Logan Conor (he crashes the wedding) from my upcoming book, ‘Logan’s Time.’

The TIME Series – by Dayna Leigh Cheser
Janelle’s Time – Release: 2012
Moria’s Time – WIP – NaNoWriMo Project, 2011 Winner
Adelle’s Time – Planned
Logan’s Time – WIP

Posted on January 5, 2012, in Adelle, Adelle's Time, Dayna Leigh Cheser, DIY Interviews, e-books, e-readers, Janelle, Janelle's Time, Logan, Logan's Time, Moria, Moria's Time, NaNoWriMo, Richard, short story, TIME Series, Wedding Chapter, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on APW: DIY Interview – Erik Swiger.

Comments are closed.

