DIY Interview – Michael Selmer

Name:
Michael P Selmer Jr

Email Address:
mpsfamily@gmail.com

What is your pen name?
.                                                Michael Selmer

What is your blog URL?  www.michaelselmer.wordpress.com/blog

What is your website URL?  www.michael-selmer.com

What is your contact information?
Facebook – http://on.fb.me/MSelmerFan
E-mail – mpsfamily@gmail.com

Where and/or when were you born?
Baltimore, MD, 1956

What schools did you attend? 
I attended the University of Maryland.

When and how did you discover you wanted to be a writer/author?
Since high school, I’ve loved writing and reading all types of books, but was never in a position to follow my dream.

For decades, the embryonic version of Michael Selmer, the writer, grew inside of Michael Selmer, the husband, father, runner and working man.  Like a fetus inside the womb, the writer developed the basic form that would allow him to go out into the world.  Labor lasted 29 hours, 36 minutes and 17 seconds; the time it took to complete a 100 mile race that plumbed the depths of my soul.  After that race, I was a different person.  My mind, spirit and emotions were fired in the crucible of a body driven beyond its limits.  The Rocky Mountains above Leadville, Colorado served as the birth canal for a writer.

After I moved to Wyoming, the stars aligned and I took my  shot.

Are you a published author?
Yes

Please list your published material, with dates?
“Harvest of the Heart” December, 2011 (eBook preview – November 2011)

If these materials are books, are they still available, and from where?
The  eBook of “Harvest of the Heart” is available now from www.BookieJar.com  It will be available on Amazon (paperback & Kindle) after the official launch – December 8.

Please tell about your first publication – what was it, when, how you felt when it happened, problems you may have had, etc.
“Harvest of the Heart” is my first published work of any note, completed in March 2011. Bill Thompson (the editor for Stephen King, John Grisham and others) was the first editor to look at the manuscript. His guidance was very valuable in making “Harvest of the Heart” the gripping, fast-paced thriller it is.

Please tell about the most memorable moment(s) in your career.
My most memorable moments are ahead of me. Both my novel and my writing career are newborns. If I had to pick a ‘memorable moment’ right now, it would be the phone conversations with Bill and all the wonderful things he said about my writing. He was eager to do a blurb for my book and that was encouraging.

What problems have you encountered in your career and how did you deal with them?
For several months this summer, I had both an agent and a contract offer.  I learned the hard way that not all publishers, or agents, are created equal.  Luckily, I was able to extricate myself and then decided to self-publish.  I hope to follow in the footsteps of Konrath, Eisler and others to success.

Did an established writer mentor you in your early days? If  yes, how did the mentor help you?
My mentor was my high school literature teacher, Mr. Richardson. He sparked that slow-burning fire that eventually turned me into a writer.

What genre do you most often write?
Crime/suspense/thriller

What other genres have you written?
I plan to write in a variety of genres?

Who are the authors who influenced your writing and  career?
In my younger years, Leon Uris, Asimov, McCaffrey, Tolkien, then King and Koontz, Orson Scott Card, and many others.  There are many younger writers who influence my writing now.  A writer has to be a reader also, or he doesn’t grow and improve.

Who are the authors your read most often?
Recently? Neil Stephenson, Patrick Rothfuss, Orson Scott Card, David Weber, Nora Roberts.

Please list the conferences/courses/webinars/workshops/seminars you have attended during the past year?
The Wyoming Writers Conference in June 2011.

Have you mentored an aspiring writer?  Would you mentor, if the opportunity arose?
I would gladly mentor

What would you tell an aspiring writer who asks you for help?
Don’t try to force the story, let the character lead you. Once you’ve finished a first draft, put it away for at least a couple of weeks before you show it to anyone else. It might save you some embarrassment because it is surprising the mistakes (in terms of plot or character development) that you miss when you are too close to the story.

What advice would you give to all up-and-coming writers?
Start learning all the submission, publishing and marketing stuff a little at a time BEFORE your manuscript is finished. That way you won’t be overwhelmed with the task when the  time comes … like I was.

What is the name of your current project?
“Running Scared,” a collection of short stories.

What is the expected release date?
March 2012

What is the genre?
Suspense, crime, paranormal and horror genres.

Please provide details of your upcoming blog tour, book tour, and/or book-signing.
A ‘Book Launch Party’ scheduled December 8 at Second Story Books in Laramie, WY.  A virtual book launch that will coincide with that.  Book and blog tours will follow.

Is this work a stand-alone or part of a series?
Stand-alone

Do you have any project(s) planned for the future?
Yes

Please provide some details of the project(s).
I have a sequel to “Harvest of  the Heart” planned, although I don’t consider it a series.

What is the anticipated release date?
August, 2012

What conferences/courses/webinars/workshops/seminars do you plan to attend in the next 12 months?
ABW Conference, Feb 29 – Mar 3.

What are your thoughts on the demands of being a self-published author?
It is overwhelming at times.

What are your thoughts on having a blog?
The blog universe is one I have only just begun to explore.  I’m finding it to be so rich and containing so much valuable information. Sometimes it’s hard to tear myself away. I had hesitated to start a blog, worried it would take away from my writing, but I’ve found it only enhances it.

My thanks to Michael for participating in the DIY Interviews program!

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Happy Writing!

Julie

PS:  Please take a few minutes to read the Wedding Chapter from my soon-to-be-published book (2012) ‘Janelle’s Time.’  You’ll meet Richard and Janelle Grayson, the newlyweds, AND, meet Duke Logan Conor (he crashes the wedding) from my upcoming book, ‘Logan’s Time.’

Posted on November 17, 2011, in Amazon, author, DIY Interviews, Janelle, Janelle's Time, Logan, Logan's Time, NaNoWriMo, Richard, Wedding Chapter, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. your blog is very inspiring, it gives me good insight on the things I’ve learned about, with help on the other stuff I began to find out about, nice post.

