APW: More on Reviewers and Reviews

More on Reviewers and Reviews!

For the past three months, I have easily visited over a thousand reviewer sites searching for the ones who will review my genre, and creating a list of those fine folks.

No two ‘Review Policy’ statements are the same, for a lot of reasons.  It’s not just the genres they will read, but the other factors, including where they will post your completed review, usually starting with the website where you’re reading the statement!

The ‘where the review gets posted’ can range from where they send you the review in an email and you do the posting wherever you want it, all the way to where they post it on every website that accepts reviews.  Because of the Bell Curve, most of the reviewers fall in the middle somewhere, posting your review on between four to six locations.

I jotted down some of those sites while I was visiting the reviewer sites.  When I finished the ‘Book Blogger Directory (link to that in my last post), I created a file of those sites, and others, and set to work researching them.

Two days later, I finally had the end results.  In the process, I’d signed on to a dozen or so writer-related sites of various kinds (plus the ones to which I already belong) – but, most importantly, I had ten sites that post reviews.

The obvious ones – Goodreads, Smashwords, Shelfari – are the top sites, along with Amazon (which has fallen a bit out of favor with some bloggers), and Barnes & Noble.  The ten sites are in addition to the reviewer’s website (or sites, as some reviewers often  have access to more than one site).  Other than the ones already mentioned, they are:  Author’s Marketing Club, AuthorsDen.com,  Library Thing, Manic Readers, and, for romance writers, The Romance Review.  Maybe you’ve heard of some of them.  And, I’m sure there are more sites like them out there. 

Do you know of any other sites that post outside reviews?

I don’t have any idea what the total daily visitor count is to the ten sites.

The point is that between the visiting the reviewer sites, gathering the information, then processing it, I spent several days on the project … all for the names of the sites where I’d like my reviews posted.

Was it worth all that work?  I have no idea.  However, I read somewhere that the average response from reviewers is very small – something near 1% – for every 100 pitches you send out, you end up with a single review – and it may not even be a good one.

The pitch letter is crucial, so anything I can come up with to improve the pitch letter certainly can’t hurt the average – and might make it better.  Asking that my reviews be posted on these sites may or may not help.  I’ll keep you posted.

Be sure to stop by on Thursday and meet Cammy May Hunnicutt, author of the book, “Considerations Prior to Shooting Your Boyfriend Right in the Nuts.”  To say that Ms. Hunnicut marches to the beat of a different drummer is … well …

Happy Writing,

Julie

PS: Please take a few minutes to read The Wedding Chapter from my soon-to-be-published book (2012) ‘Janelle’s Time.’  You’ll meet Richard and Janelle Grayson, the newlyweds, AND, meet Duke Logan Conor (he crashes the wedding) from my upcoming book, ‘Logan’s Time.’

The TIME Series – by Dayna Leigh Cheser
Janelle’s Time – Release: 2012
Moria’s Time – WIP – NaNoWriMo, 2011 Winner
Adelle’s Time – Planned
Logan’s Time – WIP
Clarissa’s Time – Planned

Posted on April 16, 2012, in Adelle, Adelle's Time, book bloggers, Clarissa, Clarissa's Time, Dayna Leigh Cheser, DIY Interviews, Facebook Fan Page, Janelle, Janelle's Time, Logan, Logan's Time, Moria, Moria's Time, NaNoWriMo, pitch, review policy, reviewers, reviews, Richard, Wedding Chapter, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

    • Hi Cristina/Krystiana,
      Thanks for stopping by, and leaving a comment!
      I’m finding my journey to publication has been, shall we say, interesting. It’s likely that no two people walk the same path, but if, by sharing my experiences, I can help other people, well, I’m happy to do it.
      Stop by again soon.
      Have a great day,
      Julie

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 17,424 other followers

